Divine Frequency

DEUTSCH, ANDREW - Loops Over Land

"Loops Over Land consists of about 50 min. of loops produced using an analog reel-to-reel tape deck and an analog tape delay system (provided by Neil Rolnick). The loops were constructed using random 'scissors clips' of Mahler's 5th Symphony and thus reflect the pastoral feel of his original composition. Some of what sound like drum beats in the loops are actually sloppy splices bathed in reverb. Production of the loops happened over the course of 2 days while I was confined to my apartment dodging an enormous snow storm. During these days of looping and confinement, I listened as deeply as possible to the sounds and envisioned large circular loops of light slowly turning over the landscape. The landscapes themselves were of lush green fields and hills dripping in recent rain while the loops shimmered gold each holding their own shape. Loops Over Land continues what I have been calling since 1987 'image drones.' Image drones are drones that are meant to evoke a very specific image for the listener. I also consider these recordings to reflect my interest in 'romantic structuralism,' a term coined by filmmaker Ken Jacobs. It seems illogical to bring the theories of structuralism and romanticism together (this was the seed of the split between Boulez and Stockhausen). However, the power of the 'structuralist activity' (see Barthes) lies in the possibility of revealing hidden functions and existing structures. The function of tonal materials in the works of Mahler were intended to induce emotive states in the listener. What I have done is isolated 'tonal moments' and made manifest their explicit function. The loops of Loops Over Land are loops of emotion embodied in the traditional form of minimalist composition. Will the loops always evoke the same feeling in every listener? I believe they will come close, at least to the Western ear." --Andrew Deutsch" - Divine Frequency.
  • Sale
  • Regular price $15.00

After nearly a decade of false starts, multiple game plans veering off the rails, and a handful of shattered hopes and/or dreams, the odyssey is finally complete—the new Fusetron site is here.

This is the first phase of a multipart rollout that will span the next few months: the currently browsable stock includes miscellaneous new releases from the past 8+ months (we have a lot of catching up to do), plus approximately a third of our backstock. Note that we’ve reduced/slashed prices on many titles and will continue to do so in order to make room for new stock. We’ll also be expanding / tweaking / improving / debugging the site itself (for example, we still have work to do on the automated international postage system, not to mention the inevitable inventory discrepancies that come with transferring an ancient and massive database to a new system).

Over the next few months, as we take inventory, clean house, and delve into our storage, we will be uploading thousands of additional items, gradually, on a near-daily basis. This will include the majority of the LPs, as well as many titles, in all formats, once thought long-gone. Many currently “sold out” items are likely to resurface.

Finally, once our general backstock is up (probably in the next two or three months) we’ll begin making our extensive stockpile of rarities available online for the first time: tons of random out-of-print titles, "deadstock," warehouse finds, secondhand collectibles, etc., accumulated over the past few decades.

Frequent/returning customers will be getting early access to these items. Details to follow on how this will work (a priority mailing list? a 'frequent flyer'-like program?), but it will not be based on dollars spent. We want to reward those who consistently support us, especially in the discogs marketplace era (to those who show up trying to poach five copies of a one-off rarity, and nothing else, ever… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ ).

So—we suggest you take some time to dig through the site—even we’ve been surprised by what’s been turning up, and there’s much more to come.
I understand these terms



Sold Out