Sub Rosa

NEMESCU, OCTAVIAN - Gradeatia - Natural 1973-83

"Sub Rosa present Octavian Nemescu's Gradeatia - Natural 1973-83. Nemescu was born in Pascani, Romania in 1940. He studied composition with Mihail Jora at University of Music in Bucharest. While still a student, he imposed himself as part of avant-garde movement in Romanian music composition. After 1965 he produced works of the "open creation" type, a blending of conceptual and environmental music. He involved himself after 1967 in the Romanian spectral trend. Starting with the work Concentric (1969), his creation received archetypal vocation by cultivating an aesthetic of the essential. Octavian Nemescu cultivated the archetypal goals on all parameters and musical forms. He is the author of Implosive Music and of Imaginary Music. He composed Multi-, Post-, Non- and Pre-Symphonies. Later, he became interested in music with initiation character, developed in a non-spectacular, ritualistic atmosphere, as a chance to reinvigorate the old mysteries and as a modality of awakening from biological, mental and spiritual sleep. Gradeatia was composed in 1982, commissioned by the Electroacoustic Music Studio in Gent (Belgium), where it was elaborated. It was conceived as ambient music for Voronet Monastery in Moldavia, as an electronic-audio fresco paralleling the existing one, embracing the idea of mural-visual consistency. It happened in a historic moment when the communist regime in Romania demolished many churches, and was conceived as a protest to these actions. Natural was composed in 1973, in its first version, and again in 1983, in a final version. This music has a spectral aesthetic orientation and at the same time, process-based and archetypal orientations." - Sub Rosa.
  • Sale
  • Regular price $16.00

After nearly a decade of false starts, multiple game plans veering off the rails, and a handful of shattered hopes and/or dreams, the odyssey is finally complete—the new Fusetron site is here.

This is the first phase of a multipart rollout that will span the next few months: the currently browsable stock includes miscellaneous new releases from the past 8+ months (we have a lot of catching up to do), plus approximately a third of our backstock. Note that we’ve reduced/slashed prices on many titles and will continue to do so in order to make room for new stock. We’ll also be expanding / tweaking / improving / debugging the site itself (for example, we still have work to do on the automated international postage system, not to mention the inevitable inventory discrepancies that come with transferring an ancient and massive database to a new system).

Over the next few months, as we take inventory, clean house, and delve into our storage, we will be uploading thousands of additional items, gradually, on a near-daily basis. This will include the majority of the LPs, as well as many titles, in all formats, once thought long-gone. Many currently “sold out” items are likely to resurface.

Finally, once our general backstock is up (probably in the next two or three months) we’ll begin making our extensive stockpile of rarities available online for the first time: tons of random out-of-print titles, "deadstock," warehouse finds, secondhand collectibles, etc., accumulated over the past few decades.

Frequent/returning customers will be getting early access to these items. Details to follow on how this will work (a priority mailing list? a 'frequent flyer'-like program?), but it will not be based on dollars spent. We want to reward those who consistently support us, especially in the discogs marketplace era (to those who show up trying to poach five copies of a one-off rarity, and nothing else, ever… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ ).

So—we suggest you take some time to dig through the site—even we’ve been surprised by what’s been turning up, and there’s much more to come.
I understand these terms