Skip to product information
1 of 1

CORNER, PHILIP - The Art of No-Art


Regular price $69.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $69.00 USD
Sale Sold out
"A new book of scores by artist and composer Philip Corner (b. 1933). The Art of No-Art is a collection of 385 new graphic scores written between 2019 and 2022. Each score is a single-page meditation based around octaves. Though written mostly for piano, the scores could be arranged for other instrumentation (for those with fewer than an eight-octave range). The Art of No-Art explores the endless possibilities of one musical note (and its bounded harmonics). The pieces can be performed by people of any skill level; rudimentary or advanced navigations are possible. A supplemental audio download is included, which features recordings of many scores from the book, played on a variety of instruments by Agnese ToniuttiRhodri DaviesSarah DavachiDerek Baron, Philip Corner, Matt HannafinCharlie MorrowZachary Paul, and Silvia Tarozzi. Additionally, Philip Corner wrote instructions for Sean McCann to collage all these recordings into a grand piece of No-Art. A numbered art print of the score "Life's A Joke" is included, a piece for voice which invites the reader to sing (or shout), "life's a joke and all things show it, I thought so once and now I know it." First edition of 100; 364 pages, 12x8" perfect bound book; "Life's A Joke" numbered print; audio download code of scores performed and collaged." - Recital.
View full details