Counter Culture Chronicles


"Clark Coolidge (1939) grew up in Providence, Rhode Island and attended Brown University before moving to New York in the early 1960s. In New York he befriended Ted Berrigan and saw his first book Flag Flutter & U.S. Electric published in 1966. Coolidge moved to San Francisco the next year, where he joined the psych-folk band The Serpent Power as a jazz drummer. His poetry has been published extensively since. Among his many publications are collaborations with Philip Guston, Ron Padgett, Keith Waldrop and others. Coolidge currently lives in Petaluma, California.

Two of finest the labels of The Netherlands, Slowscan and Counter Culture Chronicles, have now released on cassette rare Coolidge recordings from 1969. The cassette, with good quality recordings, comes with an insert recounting the history of Slowscan by its founder Jan van Toorn and the following liner notes:

Clark Coolidge, the poet perhaps most responsible for inspiring the entire experimental field of Language Poetry, produced in 1969 programs of audio pieces by himself and others for KPFS Radio in Berkeley, California. This is one of these programs, from 9/1/1969, comprising two Coolidge works read in his own voice. The pieces are built on various combinations of repeated words. The rhythmic interplay and unexpected juxtapositions of these looped sounds create a hypnotic patterning, magnified in part by the writer’s flat effect that serves to focus attention on the strangeness of the sounds of these quotidan syllables." - Counter Culture Chronicles.

  • Sale
  • Regular price $12.00

After nearly a decade of false starts, multiple game plans veering off the rails, and a handful of shattered hopes and/or dreams, the odyssey is finally complete—the new Fusetron site is here.

This is the first phase of a multipart rollout that will span the next few months: the currently browsable stock includes miscellaneous new releases from the past 8+ months (we have a lot of catching up to do), plus approximately a third of our backstock. Note that we’ve reduced/slashed prices on many titles and will continue to do so in order to make room for new stock. We’ll also be expanding / tweaking / improving / debugging the site itself (for example, we still have work to do on the automated international postage system, not to mention the inevitable inventory discrepancies that come with transferring an ancient and massive database to a new system).

Over the next few months, as we take inventory, clean house, and delve into our storage, we will be uploading thousands of additional items, gradually, on a near-daily basis. This will include the majority of the LPs, as well as many titles, in all formats, once thought long-gone. Many currently “sold out” items are likely to resurface.

Finally, once our general backstock is up (probably in the next two or three months) we’ll begin making our extensive stockpile of rarities available online for the first time: tons of random out-of-print titles, "deadstock," warehouse finds, secondhand collectibles, etc., accumulated over the past few decades.

Frequent/returning customers will be getting early access to these items. Details to follow on how this will work (a priority mailing list? a 'frequent flyer'-like program?), but it will not be based on dollars spent. We want to reward those who consistently support us, especially in the discogs marketplace era (to those who show up trying to poach five copies of a one-off rarity, and nothing else, ever… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ ).

So—we suggest you take some time to dig through the site—even we’ve been surprised by what’s been turning up, and there’s much more to come.
I understand these terms



Sold Out