COLUCCINO, OSVALDO - String Quartets

Attimo" (Instant): The composition opens with an almost pointillist counterpoint that seals the idea of an instant in each and every note, at once a magnet and a catalyst. However, the piece is characterized by contrasting sections, whether passages of dilating chords or the prolonged central section, where rapid phrases in octave leaps, played lightly sul ponticello, with controlled pitch levels, intertwine and respond in all four voices. "Aion": "Aion" is the Greek personification of infinite time, a form of time that escapes the cage of quantification. The first section is a desert, a picture of oblivion within a liquescent flow of dust, at once dissonant and sweet. The non-discursive element combines with the precision of atonal intervals from changing nuclei. The instruments play almost entirely in dyads, multiplying the sound to an almost orchestral effect. In contrast, the second section deliberately interrupts the temporal flow. Here, in this second mode of "aggression" toward (and denial of) time, we hear islands of sound floating in the void, variations in formal structures that demand special virtuosity from the performer: rhythmic micro-fragmentations, tensions produced by subtle dynamics and special harmonics, rigorous conversations among the four musicians. "Talea" (Cutting): The title of this duet consists of a single word, but a word with semantic possibilities inherent in the duality (the contradiction is resolved by my concern to restore duality to unity). "Talea" refers to the birth thanks to a previous existence that has cut and reinserted itself. I touch only on its second, musical meaning. The piece falls into three sections. The first is a modulating continuum of disembodied, crackling, intermittent sounds generated as the two instruments create "haloes" by bowing col legno instead of with the hair of the bow. At a certain point the continuum is offset by solo micro-phrases. The central section consists of thin, isolated emissions in sidereal ambit. The third is an ecstatic and exotic symbiosis of duality into unity, a symbiosis devoted to a single pedal point in the background, on which golden threads slip past, wafted by breezes. Performed by the Quartetto dArchi del Teatro La Fenice: Roberto Baraldi (violin), Gianaldo Tatone (violin), Daniel Formentelli (viola), Emanuele Silvestri (cello), with the participation of Achille Gallo (piano)." - NEOS.

  • Sale
  • Regular price $16.00

After nearly a decade of false starts, multiple game plans veering off the rails, and a handful of shattered hopes and/or dreams, the odyssey is finally complete—the new Fusetron site is here.

This is the first phase of a multipart rollout that will span the next few months: the currently browsable stock includes miscellaneous new releases from the past 8+ months (we have a lot of catching up to do), plus approximately a third of our backstock. Note that we’ve reduced/slashed prices on many titles and will continue to do so in order to make room for new stock. We’ll also be expanding / tweaking / improving / debugging the site itself (for example, we still have work to do on the automated international postage system, not to mention the inevitable inventory discrepancies that come with transferring an ancient and massive database to a new system).

Over the next few months, as we take inventory, clean house, and delve into our storage, we will be uploading thousands of additional items, gradually, on a near-daily basis. This will include the majority of the LPs, as well as many titles, in all formats, once thought long-gone. Many currently “sold out” items are likely to resurface.

Finally, once our general backstock is up (probably in the next two or three months) we’ll begin making our extensive stockpile of rarities available online for the first time: tons of random out-of-print titles, "deadstock," warehouse finds, secondhand collectibles, etc., accumulated over the past few decades.

Frequent/returning customers will be getting early access to these items. Details to follow on how this will work (a priority mailing list? a 'frequent flyer'-like program?), but it will not be based on dollars spent. We want to reward those who consistently support us, especially in the discogs marketplace era (to those who show up trying to poach five copies of a one-off rarity, and nothing else, ever… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ ).

So—we suggest you take some time to dig through the site—even we’ve been surprised by what’s been turning up, and there’s much more to come.
I understand these terms



Sold Out