Boomkat Editions

FELL, MARK - Intra

Intra is Mark Fells fascinating study in computer generated rhythm, performed by Drumming Grupo De Percussão on the Sixxen metallophone system: a set of six microtonally tuned instruments originally conceived by Iannis Xenakis for use on Pléäides (1976). Commissioned by Portos Fundação de Serralves, the eight-part Intra develops from Fells Focal Music series and his projects with Indian Carnatic musicians. It probes the perceptive difference between ideas of simplicity and complexity by instructing acoustic instrumentalists via electronic triggers relayed through headphones, an idea previously explored on the Time and Space Shapes for Gamelan installation Fell made in collaboration with Laurie Spiegel (Sheffield, 2017), as well as earlier collaborations between Fell and noted virtuoso improvisors Okkyung Lee, Laura Cannell, Sandro Mussida, and Aby Vulliamy. It is important to acknowledge Fells ongoing interests in the systems of Carnatic music, the Southern form of Indian classical music whose mathematical sound rules are practically inseparable from musical expression in a way thats difficult to comprehend from a Western perspective. In terms of rhythm, Carnatic musicians perform within a set of rules, or tala, whose seven structures each have five variations, resulting in 35 possible combinations -- many more than the usual Western structures of minor and major scales. Heard in context of Carnatic systems, Intra becomes a crafty and even wittily playful piece of sound art, one which undermines deeply entrenched conventions and perceptions of music, both composed and improvised, generated and performed, in a way thats entirely pleasurable, even strangely soothing in its stilted trickle of off kilter tones. Artwork by Joe Gilmore. Edited by Rian Treanor. Mastered and cut by Matt Colton. - Boomkat Editions.
  • Sale
  • Regular price $25.00

After nearly a decade of false starts, multiple game plans veering off the rails, and a handful of shattered hopes and/or dreams, the odyssey is finally complete—the new Fusetron site is here.

This is the first phase of a multipart rollout that will span the next few months: the currently browsable stock includes miscellaneous new releases from the past 8+ months (we have a lot of catching up to do), plus approximately a third of our backstock. Note that we’ve reduced/slashed prices on many titles and will continue to do so in order to make room for new stock. We’ll also be expanding / tweaking / improving / debugging the site itself (for example, we still have work to do on the automated international postage system, not to mention the inevitable inventory discrepancies that come with transferring an ancient and massive database to a new system).

Over the next few months, as we take inventory, clean house, and delve into our storage, we will be uploading thousands of additional items, gradually, on a near-daily basis. This will include the majority of the LPs, as well as many titles, in all formats, once thought long-gone. Many currently “sold out” items are likely to resurface.

Finally, once our general backstock is up (probably in the next two or three months) we’ll begin making our extensive stockpile of rarities available online for the first time: tons of random out-of-print titles, "deadstock," warehouse finds, secondhand collectibles, etc., accumulated over the past few decades.

Frequent/returning customers will be getting early access to these items. Details to follow on how this will work (a priority mailing list? a 'frequent flyer'-like program?), but it will not be based on dollars spent. We want to reward those who consistently support us, especially in the discogs marketplace era (to those who show up trying to poach five copies of a one-off rarity, and nothing else, ever… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ ).

So—we suggest you take some time to dig through the site—even we’ve been surprised by what’s been turning up, and there’s much more to come.
I understand these terms