Feeding Tube

ROOTLESS - What The Truth Leaves Out

"Rootless (or, more properly, rootless) is a solo project that's been going for better than five years now, helmed by Brooklyn's Jeremy Hurewitz. Two types of sounds are created under this banner -- low key electronics is one, and fingerpicked acoustic guitar is the other. what the truth leaves out focuses on the latter. The shared thread between these styles is a highly personal and intimate feel. When listening to rootless, you often get the sense this is music created solely for the pleasure of the artist himself. The aura of introspection is as deep as the night, so it's possible to almost feel like a voyeur while listening in. But hey, Jeremy sent us this stuff to hear, so we played it and asked him if he'd let us put it out, and like a true gentleman he agreed. The music goes in a couple of directions. Some of the pieces are patchworks of small, beautiful sonic fields. They possess mixed flashes of sunlight seen through smoke and are laced together with complete melodic threads. Other pieces are less attuned to resolution. They're more like questions left unanswered, and these questions are posed in a variety of languages. You can hear bits of Chadbournian flamenco fake-outs, circular breathing as done by fingers, and even a snippet of the wandering teacup raga if I'm not mistaken. The music of rootless manages to communicate and keep its secrets at the same time. Even when it gets abstract, there are obvious emotions powering everything. Like private performance for the public good. I'm not sure if this's driven by altruism or sheer cussedness, but whatever the root of the rootless sound, I'm a fan."--Byron Coley, 2022" - Feeding Tube Records.
  • Sale
  • Regular price $15.00

After nearly a decade of false starts, multiple game plans veering off the rails, and a handful of shattered hopes and/or dreams, the odyssey is finally complete—the new Fusetron site is here.

This is the first phase of a multipart rollout that will span the next few months: the currently browsable stock includes miscellaneous new releases from the past 8+ months (we have a lot of catching up to do), plus approximately a third of our backstock. Note that we’ve reduced/slashed prices on many titles and will continue to do so in order to make room for new stock. We’ll also be expanding / tweaking / improving / debugging the site itself (for example, we still have work to do on the automated international postage system, not to mention the inevitable inventory discrepancies that come with transferring an ancient and massive database to a new system).

Over the next few months, as we take inventory, clean house, and delve into our storage, we will be uploading thousands of additional items, gradually, on a near-daily basis. This will include the majority of the LPs, as well as many titles, in all formats, once thought long-gone. Many currently “sold out” items are likely to resurface.

Finally, once our general backstock is up (probably in the next two or three months) we’ll begin making our extensive stockpile of rarities available online for the first time: tons of random out-of-print titles, "deadstock," warehouse finds, secondhand collectibles, etc., accumulated over the past few decades.

Frequent/returning customers will be getting early access to these items. Details to follow on how this will work (a priority mailing list? a 'frequent flyer'-like program?), but it will not be based on dollars spent. We want to reward those who consistently support us, especially in the discogs marketplace era (to those who show up trying to poach five copies of a one-off rarity, and nothing else, ever… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ ).

So—we suggest you take some time to dig through the site—even we’ve been surprised by what’s been turning up, and there’s much more to come.
I understand these terms



Sold Out