Future Audio Graphics

ROUX, SÉBASTIEN, SETH CLUETT - Inevitable Music #1: Variations on Sol LeWitt’s Wall Drawing #260

"Edition of 350. Inevitable Music #1 employs a group of discrete digital and analog sounds (sustained/pulsed sine tone, sawtooth wave, voice, etc.) that each correspond to one of 20 shapes used in creating LeWitt’s instructional wall drawing. Once assigned, these discrete sounds combine to create elegant and rigorous compositions that encourage the listener to reconsider LeWitt’s notion that “the idea becomes a machine that makes the art.”[1] As a further nod to the instructional nature of LeWitt’s practice, each variation is preceded by a female voice that announces the particular combination of sounds used to create the composition. *Artwork: Sol LeWitt, Wall Drawing #260, On Black Walls, All Two-Part Combinations of White Arcs from Corners and Sides, and White Straight, Not-Straight, and Broken Lines. First Drawn by Sol LeWitt, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (detail), 1975. Crayon on painted wall, Dimensions variable. © 2014 Estate of Sol LeWitt/ Artist Rights Society (ARS), New York. Courtesy Paula Cooper Gallery, New York. [1] LeWitt, Sol, “Paragraphs on Conceptual Art,” originally published in ArtForum, June 1967. “Beyond the system established to sonify the original LeWitt, Roux has a fundamentally different engagement with processes. Where the result of LeWitt’s experiments actively engage the viewer with the geometry of space, Roux’s choices create an elaborate engagement with the flow of time. The experience of listening to each permutation, of each construction unfolding, of each immediately following the next, elicits an experience of temporality that seems more elastic than the linear rigidity described by the voice that precedes each variation.” Excerpt from The Raw Flow of Material, Seth Cluett " - Future Audio Graphics.
  • Sale
  • Regular price $22.00

After nearly a decade of false starts, multiple game plans veering off the rails, and a handful of shattered hopes and/or dreams, the odyssey is finally complete—the new Fusetron site is here.

This is the first phase of a multipart rollout that will span the next few months: the currently browsable stock includes miscellaneous new releases from the past 8+ months (we have a lot of catching up to do), plus approximately a third of our backstock. Note that we’ve reduced/slashed prices on many titles and will continue to do so in order to make room for new stock. We’ll also be expanding / tweaking / improving / debugging the site itself (for example, we still have work to do on the automated international postage system, not to mention the inevitable inventory discrepancies that come with transferring an ancient and massive database to a new system).

Over the next few months, as we take inventory, clean house, and delve into our storage, we will be uploading thousands of additional items, gradually, on a near-daily basis. This will include the majority of the LPs, as well as many titles, in all formats, once thought long-gone. Many currently “sold out” items are likely to resurface.

Finally, once our general backstock is up (probably in the next two or three months) we’ll begin making our extensive stockpile of rarities available online for the first time: tons of random out-of-print titles, "deadstock," warehouse finds, secondhand collectibles, etc., accumulated over the past few decades.

Frequent/returning customers will be getting early access to these items. Details to follow on how this will work (a priority mailing list? a 'frequent flyer'-like program?), but it will not be based on dollars spent. We want to reward those who consistently support us, especially in the discogs marketplace era (to those who show up trying to poach five copies of a one-off rarity, and nothing else, ever… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ ).

So—we suggest you take some time to dig through the site—even we’ve been surprised by what’s been turning up, and there’s much more to come.
I understand these terms



Sold Out