SUNROOF! - Spitting Gold Zebras

Sunroof! have done it again. Music steeped in clattering noise and rumbling drones prevail once more. The work of English sonic pioneer Matthew Bower remains unequalled. Meditative drones bathed in sunshine are swiftly exchanged with bursting volleys of noise. Sunroof! specialises in transparent, breathtaking concoctions of sound with some unexpected insights. Keyboards, guitars and electronics are submerged in Bowers transcendental whirlpool and the listener will want to dive in from the outset.Matthew Bower has a vision. He does not see sound as confrontation or provocation, but rather as a passage to another dimension. Under the name Sunroof! Bower paints layer upon layer of sound, subtle in their sublime and jubilant in their pure ecstasy, the resulting picture a peerless panorama -¢?? a tableau where light touches of water colour are mixed with dark smudges, black as coal. Spitting Gold Zebras is Sunroof!s latest update on its state of affairs. Bower gets heroic support from guitarists Marc Orleans (Sunburned Hand Of The Man) and Mick Flower (Vibracathedral Orchestra) and violinist C. Spencer Yeh (Burning Star Core). Like the true shaman that he is, Bower reroutes and transforms all incoming sounds.Sunroof!s renewed interest in unbridled, screeching noise is immediately evident. These clamorous visions of sound previously featured unrestrained in Bowers work on records with bands such as Hototogisu and the resurrected Skullflower. The uncompromising end of Spitting Gold Zebras is an ourobouros of annihilating noise; a hungry snake, continually gnawing at its tail which eventually swallows all of the surrounding sounds. Again, Sunroof! challenges the faithful, who are left staring in the sun, ascending higher and higher towards Bowers golden sound at the end of the rainbow.Spitting Cold Zebras is packed in beautiful new envelope packaging designed and handprinted by Jason Dodge & Christine Roland. -Bottrop-Boy.

  • Sale
  • Regular price $17.50

After nearly a decade of false starts, multiple game plans veering off the rails, and a handful of shattered hopes and/or dreams, the odyssey is finally complete—the new Fusetron site is here.

This is the first phase of a multipart rollout that will span the next few months: the currently browsable stock includes miscellaneous new releases from the past 8+ months (we have a lot of catching up to do), plus approximately a third of our backstock. Note that we’ve reduced/slashed prices on many titles and will continue to do so in order to make room for new stock. We’ll also be expanding / tweaking / improving / debugging the site itself (for example, we still have work to do on the automated international postage system, not to mention the inevitable inventory discrepancies that come with transferring an ancient and massive database to a new system).

Over the next few months, as we take inventory, clean house, and delve into our storage, we will be uploading thousands of additional items, gradually, on a near-daily basis. This will include the majority of the LPs, as well as many titles, in all formats, once thought long-gone. Many currently “sold out” items are likely to resurface.

Finally, once our general backstock is up (probably in the next two or three months) we’ll begin making our extensive stockpile of rarities available online for the first time: tons of random out-of-print titles, "deadstock," warehouse finds, secondhand collectibles, etc., accumulated over the past few decades.

Frequent/returning customers will be getting early access to these items. Details to follow on how this will work (a priority mailing list? a 'frequent flyer'-like program?), but it will not be based on dollars spent. We want to reward those who consistently support us, especially in the discogs marketplace era (to those who show up trying to poach five copies of a one-off rarity, and nothing else, ever… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ ).

So—we suggest you take some time to dig through the site—even we’ve been surprised by what’s been turning up, and there’s much more to come.
I understand these terms



Sold Out