Boomkat Editions

V/VM - New Beat: Brabant Schrobbeler

Brabant Shrobbeler is a searing 20 minutes of classic and unreleased new beat productions by James Kirby, aka The Caretaker, aka V/Vm, comprising material originally produced in 2006. It was selected and sequenced by Jerk van den Boschalottt and mixed and chopped to mucky perfection by Miles of Demdike Stare, marking up a personally important fifth instalment of Boomkats BK12X12 series, while also providing an arguably fitting headstone to one of V/Vms most cultishly adored projects. New beat has long become the black sheep of Manchesters dance music canon, willfully unacknowledged by successive generations of DJs who continue to suckle at the entrails of the Haçienda, when in fact new beat was a crucial part of the manc dance make-up, most often mixed up with Chicago, Detroit, and New York house, and whatever UK bleeps and boops were bubbling through at that time. James Kirby, aka V/Vm, is all too aware of the fact, and thanks to the influence and legendary DJ sets of V/Vm card holder, Acid Alan -- whose new beat collection spilled over the racks at a now defunct NQ record shop -- its memory and place in Manchesters rave folklore has been preserved by only a select few souls who really cannot be fucking chuffed with the constantly regurgitated putative history of the citys club and warehouse culture. Now, 30 years since new beat was syncretized and sonified by the weekending loons of Flanders from the best/worst bits of synth-pop, EBM, house, and electro -- arguably giving birth to the known and beloved rave techno paradigm -- V/Vms sincerely dark, sexy, and unforgiving dedications take on a new afterlife, re-sculpted into the oft-maligned but temporally appropriate format of a megamix, as was found on dozens of original new beat and acid house compilations and 12s. Driving from Be-Dashs over-the-limit jackoff, Must Do to the curdled acid gargle of Euro Hit via pure smuts in I Wanna Fuck Miss Nicky Trax, also taking in "Animal" Andy McGregors "Fuck My Pussy And Hear Me Coming", and previously unknown gold such as Russell Grant and Bajs Grotta, this is the sort of record that deserves its own plinth in the Arndale, preferably somewhere in front of the sweaty gammons and chicken elbows at Gabbotts farm shop. Mastered and cut by Matt Colton." - Boomkat Editions.

  • Sale
  • Regular price $19.00

After nearly a decade of false starts, multiple game plans veering off the rails, and a handful of shattered hopes and/or dreams, the odyssey is finally complete—the new Fusetron site is here.

This is the first phase of a multipart rollout that will span the next few months: the currently browsable stock includes miscellaneous new releases from the past 8+ months (we have a lot of catching up to do), plus approximately a third of our backstock. Note that we’ve reduced/slashed prices on many titles and will continue to do so in order to make room for new stock. We’ll also be expanding / tweaking / improving / debugging the site itself (for example, we still have work to do on the automated international postage system, not to mention the inevitable inventory discrepancies that come with transferring an ancient and massive database to a new system).

Over the next few months, as we take inventory, clean house, and delve into our storage, we will be uploading thousands of additional items, gradually, on a near-daily basis. This will include the majority of the LPs, as well as many titles, in all formats, once thought long-gone. Many currently “sold out” items are likely to resurface.

Finally, once our general backstock is up (probably in the next two or three months) we’ll begin making our extensive stockpile of rarities available online for the first time: tons of random out-of-print titles, "deadstock," warehouse finds, secondhand collectibles, etc., accumulated over the past few decades.

Frequent/returning customers will be getting early access to these items. Details to follow on how this will work (a priority mailing list? a 'frequent flyer'-like program?), but it will not be based on dollars spent. We want to reward those who consistently support us, especially in the discogs marketplace era (to those who show up trying to poach five copies of a one-off rarity, and nothing else, ever… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ ).

So—we suggest you take some time to dig through the site—even we’ve been surprised by what’s been turning up, and there’s much more to come.
I understand these terms



Sold Out